Skip to content

Pontiacs – Atacama Dreaming – LP

★ LP 12″ vinyl ★ Black (200 copies) ★ Transparent Orange (100 copies) ★


LP (black)€ 14
LP (transparent orange)€ 18
Record Company:
Catalog Number: GC068
Barcode: 5902249003260


It was year 2013 and the neo-psychedelic rock scene of Santiago de Chile’s was reaching its highest point. After releasing two albums that went from a primitive and urgent garage rock to a more elaborated space rock, Pontiacs, came through with their new self-produced album, “Atacama Dreaming”. Nine songs about the nature through its different dimensions, based on reverberant and repetitive melodies of space rock, dream pop and neo-psychedelia that give form to the most detailed and polished release of the band, which has not been officially released until now. Seven years later, Green Cookies Record presents it to the public in LP format, doing justice to a work that deserved more recognition than it had original received.


  1. Constellations 04:04
  2. Desert Sun 04:46
  3.  Voices 05:05
  4. Copper Hills (Atacama Dreaming) 06:46
  5. Jupiter Beach 04:58
  6. Patagonia 03:54
  7. After The Rainbow 03:13
  8. Bulgaria 07:59
  9. Outro 03:30



“Atacama Dreaming” consists of 9 original compositions, taking off with “Constellations”, a dream-a-like Space Pop-A-Delic tune with a remarkable phased fuzzy neo-psych scenery. “Desert Sun” is a slower number, with lots of melodic fuzzy feedback, spacey effected with a cool ‘bubbling sound’, clearly inspired by bands like Spacemen 3. The next one, “Voices” also moves into a slow colorful pattern with reverberate guitar layers and a post-rock ala shoegaze attitude. “Copper Hills (Atacama Dreaming)” is evidence of what can happen if Iggy departs from The Psychedelic Stooges and enters The Brian Johnstown Massacre, the band builds a massive powerful fuzzy wall of sound that is completely destroyed at the end… “Jupiter Beach” is a super cool song that it could easily fit inside Spiritualized 1997’s LP “Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space”!!! “Patagonia” is a distorted-psych straight rocker with really interesting instrumentation. “After The Rainbow” is a balladesque kind of acoustic song, a haunted dark Bluesy tune with a killer cold n’ eerie harmonica sound. My personal highlight is “Bulgaria”, pounding drums reminding a hellish intoxicated intro version of “Tomorrow Never Knows”, powerful chords, strong lyrics, sharp keys, and a mind-blowing Heady-Psyche middle section with lots of effects, blistering spacey sounds, I may call it a ‘tour-de-force’ of the album! Eventually, the album closes with “Outro”, a slow acoustic number with a repetitive melody that superficially blends with waves, real sea-waves, and automatically my mind projects images from Atacama desert… A Desert that touches the Sea… So, nice, and serene, and psychedelically trippy… So, what you have here is a firsthand opportunity to grab a vinyl copy of this Chilean band and widen your horizons, give it a try you won’t be disappointed… — reviewed by TimeLord Michalis (10 March 2021)

“Seriously great strong writing coupled with the sweetest of Fuzz tones and some slow burning sike outs…” — Rocket Recordings, 2012 (UK)

“Chilean psychedelia that sneaks up, bowls you over. Like, sand dunes are the sound waves of the Earth, man.” — Bandcamp StaffPicks, 2014

“Desert dreams of slow motion head banging. That dune over there just might be a wall of sound. Headed your way. Favorite track: Desert Sun.” — Kevin Johnston

“Rock solid effort from Pontiacs. If you’re a fan of heavy psyche, space rock or stoner grooves, then this album should be on your horizon, as it features all that and a whole bunch more. An artist with a wide spectrum of sounds and styles – super dreamy! Favorite track: Copper Hills (Atacama Dreaming).” — Michael Reilly

“Il est terrible cet album entre Néo Psyché / Kraut / Fuzz et ‘Chérie j’ai bouffé tous les champis’ mais sans sombrer dans le n’importe quoi !
De plus les 9 compositions ici présentées couvrent un champ lexical assez étendu et inattendu pour un album qui débarque sous l’étiquette Néo Psyché… Mais qui est tellement plus que ça ! Partant loin de toutes les chapelles sentant le renfermé. Mais ne se perdent pas en chemin !!!
ça n’est pas tous les jours qu’on découvre un groupe chilien !
Cet album est sorti originellement en 2013, et Green Cookie Rds à la brillante idée de le rééditer pour l’apporter à nos oreilles qui se régalent avec ce type de disque qui semblent sortir de nul part…
Kraut, tribalisme, Psychédélisme, Exotica, Fuzz, Space, Rock… L’Esprit au-dessus de la matière ! L’art au dessus du revivalisme…
Je peux pas vous dire mieux : si vous voulez vous faire du bien, écoutez, réécoutez, réréécoutez ce disque !!!!” — Bertrand Tappaz – Voix De Garage (show) – Radio Campus Grenoble 90.8 FM (4 March 2021)

Influences: Spacemen 3, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Asteroid No. 4, Joy Division, The Doors, Iggy & The Stooges, The Velvet Underground.
Related Artists: Sudden Death of Stars, The Cult of Dom Keller, Watch Out!, The Psychedelic Schafferson Jetplane, Django Django, Tame Impala

Subscribe to our newsletter