Skip to content

Formed in Athens, Greece, in 2000, Happy Dog Project is a sextet, whose groove-centric music combines elements of Afrobeat, Ethio-jazz and hip hop. The band’s members are Yannis Dimitriadis (organ, keyboards), Vangelis Kasvikis (drums), Stelios Mcris (trumpet), Yannis Tseronis (bari sax), Yannis Dimakos (el. guitar), and Panos Tomaras (el. bass). MC’s BNC and RoI add rhymes and high-octane energy to the mix, both live and in the studio.

Their first album, “Dog Days Are Over” (2004) was followed by “Doggy Style” (2007), both on ANKH Records (Dimitriadis, Kasvikis, D. Kaskouras: el.bass, D. Karachontzitis: el.guitar, DJ Marble: scratch, K. Tzekos: clarinet and Yannis Papanastasiou: alto sax). Their third studio album, “Dog to the Bone” (2012) was released on Rope-A-Dope (Dimitriadis, Kasvikis, Kaskouras, Karachontzitis, Nassia Gofa: vocals, M.Valinakis: sax, S.Ganiaris: perc).

“Treat” is Happy Dog Project’s fourth studio album. It contains eight original tracks that were recorded, produced and mixed in June 2020 by Thanos Amorginos @ Downstroke Studio, except for “Afro K.” and “Don’t let me know”, that were recorded two years earlier by Yannis Petroyiannis @ Matrix Studio. The album includes contributions by rappers BNC and RoI, singer Jenny Kapadai and saxman Apostolis Lampouris.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Loading video...